A flame as hot as the sun

Drive a shard of glass into my chest

I dare you

Watch the light leave my eyes

Let the blood smear onto your kind fingertips

The ones that caress my cheek at night

Yet instead

You sit quietly across the room

We blink cautiously 

Nails dig into the palms of my hands

The sweat burns my fresh, exposed flesh

And triggers something

The tears

I tear away

White sheets

         Black skies

                  Bright stars

                           Frighten me

                                        Until

                                               I awaken

And there you are

Sleeping soundly

Peacefully 

Leave a Reply

