642 THINGS TO WRITE ABOUT – You have just swallowed your pride and done something you didn’t want to do. Your friend wants to know why. The two of you are driving around an almost-full parking garage looking for a space for the friend’s overly sized pickup. Write the scene.

It’s cold and the heat in the truck is busted. We’re bundled up in sweaters and scarves with blankets across our laps. The back window is broken, stuck just an inch shy of being closed making the air that much more painful to bear. I looked over at my friend, who looked as though she were struggling with the weight beneath her palms.

“I don’t know how you drive this thing.” I chuckled nervously, trying to lighten the mood and stall the question that was lingering between us.

“Same way a sumo wrestler lugs around his fat ass – you get used to it after while.” She paused and exhaled slowly. “The piece of junk just doesn’t run well in cold weather, I guess.” 

I nodded in agreement as she turned the corner into a parking garage. It wasn’t the garage we wanted, but it seemed as though all of them were full at this time of year. 

“God, I hate Christmas shopping.” I grumbled, sinking into the seat more and huddling my over-sized sweater around myself more and tugging up the blanket farther, revealing my fuzzy winter boots that were damp from the snow outside. I shivered and turned my head to look out the window at all the shiny cars in the dim light of the garage. “I doubt we’ll even find a parking place.” 

“Don’t be such a Negative Nancy, Hilly.” She spat back, I could tell she was upset about something, most likely the question lingering between us that I really did not want to answer. “So, why’d you do it?” She muttered as she exhaled deeply, the air in front of her face turning into a cloud of steam for a moment before disappearing into the cold again.

“Jaycee, please don’t make me talk about this… I had to do it.” 

“It was downright stupid, Hilly.”

“I had to do it.”

“But, why?”

“Because, Jaycee, I love him.”

“You’re seventeen years old. Don’t you think it is a little soon to make a decision like this, especially after he did what he did to you?”

“Doesn’t matter anymore. The past is the past for a reason.”

“But, you’re so young still. What if there is something better out there waiting for you?”

“Well, I don’t want it. I want Charley. I’m always going to want Charley. I love him with my entire being.”

“What’s the point? He hurt you.”

“It doesn’t matter anymore, Jaycee.”

“It matters to me.”

“Don’t worry yourself. I can handle this. I love him.”

“That doesn’t make it any easier, Hilly.”

“You’re telling me… You aren’t the one whose heart is broken.”

Leave a Reply

