642 THINGS TO WRITE ABOUT – Your best birthday.

January 26, 2012
I’ve been on this beautiful planet for seventeen years now.
And this day was the best day of my life.

We were six days into dipping our toes into the cool fresh water. I was so scared I was going to mess everything up again or get so scared of getting attached that I would run away again. I’m really glad I didn’t run away.

My hands normally shake and get clammy and sweaty the first time I hold a guy’s hand. But, that wasn’t the case that day. My hand instead felt warm and safe in the embrace of your strong tan fingers.

You promised you would make it the best birthday I had ever had. You hardly even knew me then and you still kept that promise.

I was so nervous I thought I was going to scare you away. We had joked around about kissing, but I never thought we really would. I didn’t think I would have the courage to give you that chance. But, I did.
It was that amazing first kiss that every girl dreams of. I didn’t get that the first go round, but you made it worth waiting for a second guy to come clean up the mess.

It literally stole my breath away.

Two kisses.
Two people.
Two hearts.
Two moments.
That fit perfectly together.

I may not get to have another birthday with you. I may not get to hold your hand again. I may not get to kiss those beautiful lips again. But, I know I will always keep that memory in my heart. I know that every time I see that park and every time I sit at that picnic table… That feeling will fill my stomach again and it will steal the breath from my lips.

Once in a lifetime someone comes along to teach you that there is not just hurt in this world. They come around to teach you that there is also love. They teach you how beautiful it is and how, despite the flaws, faults, and mistakes, it can still turn the butterflies on and make you wish that you could pause that moment and keep it there forever.

Everything happens for a reason.

With two simple kisses, you gave me the best birthday I have ever had. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

