Sweet Dreams

I was lying in bed last night
My arms wrapped around a pillow
Your voice echoing through a speaker
Your sweet, tired voice
Telling me
Goodnight
Sweet dreams
I love you
But, if I close my eyes
You were right next to me
The warm blankets surrounding me
Were your arms
Keeping me safe
From the dark enveloping my world
It creeps from under the door
And swallows me whole
But, you keep it at bay
With that bright light
Shining
Through your beautiful brown eyes
Delicately
Holding everything
Everything that matters to me
Goodnight
Don’t let the bed bugs bite
I love you, too

Leave a Reply

